Chairmans report 2011

Wedmore Cricket Club 2011

With The Firsts and Thirds consolidating their positions mid table and the Seconds gaining promotion - it was a good season last year on the whole for Wedmore Cricket Club.

Our First Team Captain Martyn Boley rose to the challenge in his first season in the role and introduced some new players to the club which is a good foundation for the future

Pip Patch Captain of the Seconds led by example with the bat and was instrumental in gaining the Second X1 their second promotion in 3 seasons by winning their league.
The spirit on and off the field will no doubt see the side continue in the same vain next year. Last season also produced the best teas in the club’s history.

The thirds, under captain James McQuarrie - following his sabbatical - have had a mixed year in terms of performance but their sportsmanship was rewarded by them gaining the Don Crouch Fair Play award 2011. Well done to all players involved.
Both the seconds and thirds had an enjoyable evening at the Shrubbery Hotel in October 2011 collecting their respective cups from the league.
It is a worthy achievement that the 3rds put out a side every week – and bringing on some great new talent – Josh Burgess and Tim Ingle who have also played up in the seconds this season.
Acknowledgement goes to Lloyd Patch in particular for his organisation of the Sunday side and also everyone involved in the youth teams – Paul Nicholls, Dave Williams, Bob Burgess and Pip Patch.
Wedmore has a great youth policy – thanks go to Bob Burgess, Dave Williams, Paul Nicholls and Scott Harris who work with the younger sides (Under 11’s, Under 13’s and Under 15’s) a key part to the future of The Cricket Club.
U13 finished second in their league in their league with notable performances from Sam Blackburn and Aiden Nichols. The Under 11’s finished third in their league
2011 Awards

1st X1 Player of the Year - Ally Cave
2nd X1 Player of the Year - Matt Drew
3rd X1 Player of the Year - Majid

Clubman of the Year - Martyn Boley

Young Player of the Year - Tom Stevens